Tags

, , , ,

My online browsing last night turned into two hours of searching and re-searching when I decided to look up the currently ongoing construction for SM Arena at Mall of Asia. The discussions led me to INC’s (Iglesia ni Cristo) latest project: Philippine Arena. After which, I stumbled upon plans to renovate Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Why am I writing about it? Take a look at these:


SM BAY CITY ARENA Mall of Asia, Pasay City (est. completion: April 2012)


PHILIPPINE ARENA Ciudad de Victoria, Bocaue, Bulacan (est. completion: 2014)


SMART ARANETA COLISEUM Araneta Center, Cubao, QC (est. completion: 2012)

All I can think of seeing these architectural renders is… Wow.

I’m all for providing Filipinos the proper world-class venues for sports events, concerts and so much more. For the longest time, it’s only either Araneta Coliseum or Philsports Arena… both aging, both dated. Now, new structures are taking shape; and renovations are being initiated. We’re thinking bigger and better… especially Philippine Arena, which will have a 50,000 seating capacity! WOW.

Right now, it’s still mostly talk and anticipation. We all have no choice but to wait and see what the finished product would look like. I remember walking into Marina Bay Sands (Singapore) and just marveling at the structure and design. I hope to get that feeling when I finally see these completed. Hopefully, they will be iconic and memorable… landmarks of Philippine lifestyle and entertainment. I can’t wait to sit in these arenas as a dot in a crowd and take part in a concert… or witness a game… maybe even do a shoot! It’s going to be totally AWESOME.

