Tags

,

Today is my birthday.

Birthdays are our own personal New Year. You get bombarded with greetings. You celebrate with a wish (or some sort of resolution). The countdown to your next birthday resets to another 365 days; and you’re facing one whole year of being a certain age. What you do with it is up to you.

I’m now 27 years old… Officially in my late twenties. In its essence, this day is no different from any other day; but staring this stage of my life in the face is kind of difficult to bear. I remember a couple of months ago, I was freaking myself out with the thought that I’m approaching my late twenties. What have I accomplished at this point? Should I be doing something more worthwhile? Am I on the right track? I then think of people who are my age having done so much. Number one example: Mark Zuckerberg, 27 years old, Facebook co-creator.

Okay, I know I shouldn’t be comparing myself to him; but at 27, he’s a billionaire.

So why am I stuck being ME and not being Mark Zuckerberg?

SIMPLE. It’s my life. Whatever I’ve done to get to where I am is exactly what I am meant to be. Hey, I’m pretty happy. I have a great family. I have good friends and a decent job, which I enjoy doing. I’m probably doing better than a lot of other 27 year olds in the world. I shouldn’t freak out. I should be thankful. And any measure of my success shouldn’t be based on other people’s (i.e. Mark Zuckerberg) success. Otherwise, I’d go crazy.

So here’s to me. My day. My new year. Happy Birthday to me!

