Tags

, , ,


Show 2 of 25: FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS
(2006-2011)

it’s about:
It’s about life in a small town. It’s about Middle America. It’s about family, friendship and love. And oh yeah, there’s football in it, too.

Marketed as a show centered around the sport, this show exceeds the expectations of each and every person that starts watching. After two or three episodes, one would realize that football is simply a backdrop to the central focus of the show, which is the people of Dillon, Texas. At its heart is Eric and Tami Taylor, who are easily two of the most realistic characters in television, played amazingly by Kyle Chandler and Connie Britton. Around them are flawed yet equally likable personalities, who I can’t enumerate because they’re all well-acted and well-developed characters. Together, they give us a picture of Texas and the highly turbulent world of high school football.

my earliest history with the show:
I remember not even considering the show when it came out in 2006. In my mind, it was clearly about football; so I’m not interested. However, as the show gathered more and more critical buzz, I became intrigued. By the time Christmas break came around and I was looking for something new to watch, I got hold of the first episode so I could check it out… to see if I would get hooked. Less than three days later, I was all caught up; and I couldn’t wait for what happens next.

Here’s the blog entry referring to my discovery of Friday Night Lights. It’s kind of cool reading back to that entry. In addition, here’s a history of my entries declaring my love for this show.

why it sticks:
This show is simply flawless in every way: the characters, the actors, the stories, the drama, the comedy (yes, there’s a bit of comedy there), the football… Everything sticks with you. Even the weakest season ended amazingly; and it led to even better stories in the following years… capped off by a heartwarming and wonderful series finale.

The show is also something I haven’t seen before. Sure, it had its fair share of villains. But the town itself is the main villain. Each and every story arc, though sometimes seems cliched (like the pregnancy storyline), is twisted and treated into something new, which makes it all the more real. The characters also grew up and moved on as seasons progressed. And despite losing established characters, the new recruits developed and blossomed on their own… becoming new people that we rooted for. I can’t think of another show that did that and did it well.

Another thing that stuck with me is the fact that I declared the show’s first year as the single most faultless season I’ve ever watched on television. All 22 episodes were incredible. I couldn’t find a single flaw. Until now, only Friday Night Lights fulfilled such a feat, in my opinion.

best memory:
It’s impossible to select my best memory for a show such as this. I think I have one for each and every character. So here’s the next best thing, a farewell video to one of the best shows of the past decade. If you don’t already love FNL, view this, watch the show, and thank me later.

