Tags

,

Ah, memories…

This is the first project I ever did. It was shot and produced over four years ago for Ogilvy & Mather/Unilever Philippines.

These commercials took us two days to shoot, one on location (Eastwood) and one in studio. Each board/commercial was shot for 1 day; and all the beauty shots and product shots were done in the studio shoot. It’s directed by Ricky Villabona, with director of photography Boy Yñiguez, and production designer Mitch Magbitang-Directo. Production house: Straight Shooters Media, Inc. Post house: Optima Digital.

It was good that I experienced a combination location and studio shoot for my first project. It introduced me to the work and gave me a peek into the differences between the two. The storyboards were also simple enough that the actual shoot didn’t take too long. Shooting until the wee hours of the morning might have traumatized me. I would experience that a few projects into the job.

This project also introduced me to the concept of a beauty ad. Everything should be glossy, beautiful and flawless. Every detail is meticulously shot and edited (read: cleaned up) to make sure that not a hair is out of place and that the talent as well as the product appears perfect.

Much of the project was a blur. After all, it was my first ever shoot. But I learned a lot from it; and it set the tone for the succeeding commercials that I was part of.

