Tags

, , , ,

Rise of the Planet of the Apes
Starring: James Franco, Freida Pinto, Andy Serkis

Very impressive movie. I didn’t know what to expect coming in; but what I saw was good. It went beyond the science; and went into the relationship of man and animal… of the conflict between medical advancement and human connection. Andy Serkis is successful (yet again) in portraying a CG character to utter perfection. With a simple glance and a tilt of the head, you immediately get what he’s trying to convey. Simply amazing.

Crazy, Stupid, Love
Starring: Steve Carell, Julianne Moore, Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone

From the trailer, I just had a good feeling about this one. This movie delivered on everything I wanted it to be and more. It’s a smart and witty romantic comedy… one of the best in recent years. The characters are likable. The love stories are solid and enjoyable. The ensemble is simply incredible. What stuck with me most are the simple moments between people in love: personal conversations and private jokes… lingering glances and meaningful grins… and phone conversations that mean so much more than what’s being said… As a bonus, the twists and turns in the story just exploded in a wonderful climax that had me laughing my a** off.

Crazy, Stupid, Love is officially the latest addition to my favorites. I LOVED it.

