Tags

,

It’s that time of the year again… New shows, old shows. Good TV, bad TV. It’s all coming back.

I just bought the Fall TV Preview issue of Entertainment Weekly, an annual special that I never failed to purchase since 2003.


EW Fall TV Preview 2011

Unlike previous years, I haven’t been as invested in keeping track of the hottest new shows; so I’m completely clueless as to which shows are worth checking out and which ones may get canceled after only a few episodes. This is why I’m relying heavily on this issue to guide me in the right direction.

I’ve skimmed. I’ve scanned. I’ve picked. This is a rundown of the shows I’m going to watch, the shows I’m returning to and maybe a short explanation why I’m tuning in:
[*new show]   [**need to catch up]

September 13
Ringer* The CW – Sarah Michelle Gellar playing twins.

September 14
Up All Night* NBC – Maya Rudolph. Will Arnett. Christina Applegate. That is all.

September 15
The Vampire Diaries** The CW
The Secret Circle* The CW – It’s Lux (from Life Unexpected) as a witch. It’s from Vampire Diaries’ Kevin Williamson. This may potentially be Charmed for teenagers.

September 19
How I Met Your Mother CBS
The Sing-Off NBC – After an addictive and satisfying second season, 16 groups will battle it out for acapella supremacy. If the groups are better this year, this is gonna be a hell of a competition!
2 Broke Girls* CBS – Kat Dennings is on TV!

September 20
Glee Fox – The second season was a bit of a mess; but I’m still watching for the music.
New Girl* Fox – Zoey Deschanel is on TV!
Raising Hope Fox

September 21
The Middle ABC
Modern Family ABC

September 22
The Big Bang Theory CBS – What comes next after that twisted finale where Penny and Raj hook up? What now?!
Community NBC – I simply miss the gang.
Grey’s Anatomy ABC
The Mentalist CBS – Patrick Jane is in jail. I wonder where they’re going with this.

September 23
Nikita The CW – So much stuff happened in the first season. I’m really looking forward to see where they’re going this year.
Fringe** Fox

September 25
Desperate Housewives ABC
The Good Wife CBS – My current number one favorite drama. I gotta see what happens next!
Pan Am* ABC – Cristina Ricci is on TV!

September 26
Gossip Girl The CW
Terra Nova* Fox – Dinosaurs. ‘Nuf said.

September 28
Suburgatory* ABC
Happy Endings ABC – I got hooked on this show after season one was shown on ABC. It’s charming. It’s funny. It’s got the potential to be close to my all-time favorite Friends.

October 2
Dexter** Showtime

October 5
American Horror Story* FX – Connie Britton!!!

October 16
The Walking Dead AMC – More zombie action!

October 21
Chuck NBC – It’s the final season. I cannot miss it.

November 23
I Hate My Teenage Daughter* Fox – It’s about two mothers who weren’t particularly popular in high school… but somehow spawned teenage queen bees. I hope it’s got the wit and heart of Mean Girls.

Waiting List
These are shows that are on “wait and see” status. If it lasts on TV, maybe I’ll tune in.
The Playboy Club
Person of Interest
Grimm
Once Upon A Time
The X Factor

