Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“the IT list” A series of posts that highlight the various stuff, old or new, that I’ve been doing… reading, watching, eating or simply obsessing over recently. It’s my personal countdown.

the IT list #1
Since this is the inaugural list, I’ve got 10 entries. This pretty much covers the past month. I’ve had a lot of free time. My shoot just finished and our post production (editing, etc.) has a very long timetable; and it involves days where we have no activity at all… So I’ve been staying at home, giving me time to drown myself in all sorts of things. Here they are:

#ONE
It’s what Scott Pilgrim vs. The World, one of my favorite films, was based on. I pored through all six books the past week. The humor and spirit that I expected was all there. It was a weird and quirky little gem that’s completely entertaining. This is a comic that has cemented itself as an iconic graphic novel that defines this generation; and I’m completely on board.

#TWO
I’m falling in love with Happy Endings. What was once another Friends cardboard cut-out is quickly becoming the comedy I can’t wait to watch every week. The show has found its groove as evidenced by the first two episodes this season. The cast has solidified their chemistry as an ensemble; and it shows.

#THREE
Street Corner Symphony is one of my favorite groups from the second season of The Sing-Off. These guys have a cool, laid-back attitude and I can feel it from their first album, Unpractice Makes Perfect. They’ve got a great song selection that covers somber tunes (Dead Man’s Will, Drift Away, Mad World) to more upbeat numbers (Hey Soul Sister, Down on the Corner, Everything). This album is currently alternating with my Sing-Off and Top 40 playlists. I love listening to it.

#FOUR
I wrote about the new pair of top-siders that I bought last Monday. Since then, I’ve worn it three times. That’s how much I’m loving these shoes. It’s catching up to Chucks and FitFlops as my favorite footwear.

#FIVE
I found out that the latest season of Junior Masterchef Australia has premiered and four episodes have aired. I got caught up the other day; and the talent is blowing me away yet again. These kiddie chefs made ice cream from scratch, cooked Greek dishes, and made outstanding culinary concoctions from a dozen eggs! I can’t wait to see what else the show has in store for this season.

#SIX
I started using Lolo Beatburn Treadmill/Outdoor Trainer last May when I decided to jump on our treadmill and start working out. I stopped after 13 workouts because of work. But I’m starting to reacquaint myself with the app. It’s a great companion that provides up to the minute guidance to maximize your workout, with music that adjusts to your speed, and customization depending on your fitness goals. It’s a great tool to get motivated. Highly recommended.

#SEVEN
I started getting manicures and pedicures about a year ago. Nail-a-holics was the first nail salon I went to. It was a good experience. Now that they just opened a branch nearby (SM San Lazaro), I went there to get some much-needed pampering the other day. I tried the Gold Coast Manicure, Pedicure, Foot Spa with Mud Mask for Php750. Needless to say, my feet and hands were thankful afterwards. I’m definitely coming back.

#EIGHT
Before Scott Pilgrim, I read Persepolis. It was the only book I bought from The Manila Book Fair. I watched the movie over 2 years ago; so I decided to get my hands on the graphic novel that inspired it. I usually read it before going to sleep; so it took me longer to finish. However, it’s hardly a book you would get bored reading. I found myself finishing over 50 pages on the first night, even if I was already sleepy when I started. The book is insightful. It opened me up to a world where war is the norm. It has introduced me to a history I never knew through the eyes of the author. Solid writing and engaging illustrations made for a great read. It has made me want to watch the movie again soon.

#NINE
I’m obsessed with this show once again. Much like last year, I’m finding myself listening to The Sing-Off songs over and over again. A cappella is one of the greatest musical art forms; and I’m so thankful to this show for introducing me to how great it could be. Currently on repeat: Grenade and What Do You Want From Me by Delilah, American Boy by Afro Blue, Wicked Game by Sonos, E.T. by Pentatonix, Just Can’t Get Enough by Urban Method, Dynamite by Yellow Jackets… sheesh, might as well say EVERYTHING!

#TEN
If you love California Maki and sushi; but you don’t want to spend a lot, then Gryn Wasabi is the way to go. I discovered this establishment about two years ago; and has been my go-to merienda for client presentations. We served it for an interlock (presentation) earlier this week. You can’t go wrong with 124 pieces for only Php600! There’s no catch. The presentation is great. The food is good. The price is right.

