Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

“the IT list” A series of posts that highlight the various stuff, old or new, that I’ve been doing… reading, watching, eating or simply obsessing over recently. It’s my personal countdown.

the IT list #2
Still have a lot of free time on my hands… I’ve been reading up on some books, listening to music and catching up on shows. Without further ado, here’s the list:

#ONE
This series has just gotten better and better since it premiered almost three years ago. The Vampire Diaries continues to forge its own mythology with interesting new characters and tons of drama. Five episodes into season three and I’m more hooked than ever. The arc doesn’t struggle in one place and I’m loving the pacing; because it keeps things interesting. I love this show!

#TWO
Real Steel is a pleasant surprise. I went into the cinema without any expectations and halfway through the film, I was into it wholeheartedly! I was cheering, shouting for the boxing robots; and the cinema crowd was with me. It was a great viewing experience, one that I haven’t had in a while. A large part of the credit goes to Dakota Goyo (This kid is adorable!) and Hugh Jackman. Their relationship on screen added a lot of heart to the film; and everyone couldn’t help but get charmed by it. Atom! Zeus! Midas! Metro! Twin Cities! Hooray for the robots!

#THREE
This post says it all. These books were the only things I was holding early last week. The Hunger Games trilogy is a truly engaging series that reflects on war and man’s fight for survival. I’m truly looking forward to the film next year.

#FOUR
Foster The People is the band behind hit song Pumped Up Kicks; and their album “Torches” is more of the foot-tapping, easy listening stuff that good records are made of. I’ve been listening to it the past week; and the songs are absolutely catchy. My other favorite tracks are Warrant, Helena Beat and Houdini. Still, the whole album’s worth listening to. Highly recommended.

#FIVE
This news made my week! I’ve been waiting for Japanese clothing brand Uniqlo to come to Philippine shores; and SM got it. There’s still a long wait until the first store opens (ETA 2012); but the deal is done and that’s what matters. I’m excited!

