Tags

, , , , , , ,

I bought these things a few weeks apart; but they do have something in common… They’re both Harry Potter-related!

I’m a bit of a Potterhead; and these two purchases are pretty substantial (read: expensive) but DEFINITELY worth it in my opinion. These are both in my Christmas Wish List; so I’m really happy to have given myself these “gifts.”

FULLY BOOKED
Harry Potter: Page to Screen
Php2,995

This book chronicles the complete filmmaking journey that Harry Potter took… from the words written by JK Rowling into a once-in-a-lifetime film franchise. We are guided through the whole process. Learn more about how they chose the screenwriter, director and cast. Find out about character design, production design and special effects that successfully brought everything to life. It’s all there and so much more. It has a lot of wonderful illustrations, pictures and anecdotes that give fans like me insight into the making of all the films. Working in production myself, it’s even more amazing to read and find out about how Hollywood made movie magic happen.

ASTROPLUS
Harry Potter: The Complete 8-Film Collection
Php4,200

I have never been this excited to own a complete film collection since the Lord of the Rings set I bought over three years ago. I waited to own this ever since the first film came out in 2001. After ten years, it’s finally out… All the films have been finished and the complete story of Harry Potter has been translated to screen.

This set has 17 discs in all. Each of the 8 films consists of their respective two-disc special editions; and there’s a bonus disc entitled “Hogwarts’ Last Stand,” which is a 35-minute featurette about the making of the final film.

At this price, each disc is approximately Php247, which I think is worth every penny. I was so excited that I decided to re-watch the entire series since purchasing the set. I’m now on the special features of the second film.

I don’t know if a  better sort of collection will be released in the future; but this one’s pretty good enough for me. All the films are packed with special features; and it’s all placed in a neat box. After all, I think ten years has been enough of a wait to have the complete collection in my hands, don’t you think?

I absolutely love this set. Anyway, I’m off to continue my movie marathon… Can’t wait to finish everything!

