Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“the IT list” A series of posts that highlight the various stuff, old or new, that I’ve been doing… reading, watching, eating or simply obsessing over recently. It’s my personal countdown.

the IT list #4
I haven’t had the chance to post any list for the month of November; so consider this as a “blanket” countdown for the past 30 days:

#ONE
This book had a title that I seem to be familiar with but haven’t really heard anything about. Whatever drew me toward it, I’m simply glad to have bought The Perks of Being A Wallflower; because it turned out to be SO GOOD. It’s one of those books that struck me as a genuine coming-of-age story. The protagonist’s narration is in the form of letters to a friend… much like a journal. You are then brought into his world where he’s mainly an observer; but somehow through his friends, family and teachers, he slowly gets pushed in the experience of living. I LOVE it so much, it made me cry. I felt like such a dork for it; but it’s proof how much I got into it. Definitely a must-read.

#TWO
I went through a documentary phase the past month, where I got hold of as many critically-acclaimed documentaries as possible and watched them one after the other. Some of them may be controversial as to its truth (Catfish); but there wasn’t a film that I didn’t love watching. Some may have simply entertained (My Date With Drew), others made me feel repulsed with its revelations (Food Inc.); but all of them made me learn certain things about the world. I highly recommend taking a break from Hollywood magic and exposing yourself to some real quality stories.

Other documentary films you should check out not listed here: The Wire, The King of Kong, The September Issue.

#THREE
They just won The Sing-Off; but I’ve been rooting for them since they broke out of the competition with “E.T.”… I think most of us were. Pentatonix is futuristic a cappella in a small package made up of only five people. Scott, Mitch, Kirstie, Kevin and Avi are my new idols. They are fantastic at arranging any song by putting in a signature “surprise” with every performance. It could be a cool breakdown in the middle, a remix with their voices, an abrupt silence… No matter what, what they do is AWESOME. The group remained consistently great with every episode; and I love them for it. I’m so happy they won. I’m looking forward to what their recording contract allows them to produce. I hope it’s as good or even better than their performances on the show.

Just so you get exposed to their talent (if you haven’t already), here’s one of my many favorites, Video Killed the Radio Star:

#FOUR
With the release of the complete film collection on DVD, I was brought back to my love for J.K. Rowling’s beloved series about a young wizard named Harry Potter. I re-watched all 8 films, including special features, in the span of a few days. I was reminded of how special the stories and the films have been not just for me, but for the world. I will forever be a fan.

#FIVE
Brilliant comedic chops paired with a beautiful face? It was quite disorienting but turned out to be even more effective in making me laugh. Petra Mahalimuyak is Ashley Rivera’s alter ego, a fast-talking woman with a terrible “p” and “f” defect, who gives you instructions on how to apply make-up, even how to dougie. Her biggest hit? How to Dance in a Club, which is funny and helpful at the same time.

