Tags

, , , , , , ,

“the IT list” A series of posts that highlight the various stuff, old or new, that I’ve been doing… reading, watching, eating or simply obsessing over recently. It’s my personal countdown.

the IT list #5
Here we are yet again… the end of another year. I can’t help but think this one came by quicker than ever before. In some ways, I’m glad and can’t wait to kick start a brand new year.

The year 2011 was a pretty difficult year for me. I encountered some challenges personally as well as career-wise; and the year didn’t exactly end with a bang as compared to 2010. Still, it brought up lessons that I can’t help but reflect upon, however cliched some of them may be. Some may seem shallow. Some may seem (pa-)deep. However, all these sum up my thoughts on the year that was.

#FIVE
This year, I had the good fortune of being able to watch three concerts: Taylor Swift, Bruno Mars and The Script. There were a lot more acts that came and went; but I’m thankful to have witnessed these shows. All three artists are very different; but I enjoyed them all. I live for music. I love it. For me, spending a couple thousand bucks to enjoy a show and the crowd was well worth it.

Live shows make you appreciate your favorite artists more. You as a fan get to know them a little bit better as entertainers rather than just voices heard on the radio. In 2012, I’m hoping there’ll be more foreign acts coming that are worth my time and hard-earned money.


#FOUR
This year, I had the chance to participate in projects other than local television commercials. When I was lucky enough to be given an opportunity to try my hand in other formats, all I could think of was, “Why not?” Anything is worth a go.

Let’s see… a short film, an out-of-town shoot in El Nido, a television show, an MTV… I am proud to have taken part in these kinds of shoots even though they weren’t exactly a walk in the park to put together. Honestly, I didn’t exactly love doing all of them either, as with most jobs. Some were great. Some were… Eh. But I learned A LOT from doing them. There were a number of challenges; but at the end of the day, knowing that I have gone through projects of varying requirements and difficulty makes me feel as if I’m ready for anything come 2012.


#THREE
I wanted to watch The Lion King in Singapore, so I did. Not even a lost passport stopped me from reapplying and rebooking my ticket. And you know what? I had the time of my life. It’s impossible not to.

This year, I was also able to take a trip to Zambales & Olongapo, get on a road trip to Camarines Sur (for the Ad Congress) and bask in the beauty of El Nido, Palawan (for a shoot). I rode The Mummy and Battlestar Galactica rides (human and cylon, mind you). I got to zip line over the sea. I swam in crystal clear waters. Say what you want about traveling: exhausting, draining, expensive… Still, it’s always fun being in an unfamiliar place. I already have one trip planned for next year; and I can’t wait to add some more to that. Biyahe lang!


#TWO
Most of the time, I drown in television shows that unread books just pile up in my room. In 2011, I pushed myself to read more books compared to previous years. When I got back into it, I couldn’t stop. I was reminded of how engaging and rewarding reading is. Graphic novels, chick lit, fiction, non-fiction… I read a lot of them this year. And I vow to read more of them in the coming year.


#ONE
I’m a person who tends to lose things; and this was a banner year for me. I’d rather not get into the stuff I lost. That’s all in the past. However, with every loss, there’s a lesson; and with all the strength I could muster, I will avoid the mistakes of the past year. I’ve had my share of hard lessons; but hopefully, with luck on my side, things will be better next year.

To sum up, 2011 has taught me to just go for it. As the Globe ads say, “Go lang nang go.” Think before you do; but just do it. Whatever “it” is, no matter how hard “it” may be, with strength and will, things will probably be fine. And hey, if things don’t turn out perfectly, you could always try again.

