Tags

, , , ,

Show 13 of 25: THE LITTLE LULU SHOW
(1995-1999)

it’s about:
Lulu Moppett is like any other kid who gets into a little mischief every now and then with her band of friends. She may get into trouble with her antics; but she always has the best of intentions tackling any situation.

my earliest history with the show:
It was on Cartoon Network back when they had decent series in the roster. This is another show I loved watching when I was a kid. It starts right when I get home from school. After a tiring day, I turn the TV on, sit back, and relax. It was a routine I stuck with well into early high school. I loved it.

why it sticks:
The Little Lulu Show is one of those cartoons that is not too “young” and not too “adult.” Through the stories, it is remarkable how the writers were able to strike that perfect balance. Proof? My sister, who is 6 years older than me, loves this show as well.

Aside from Lulu herself, every other character has a personality that sticks with you. The naughtiness and hilarity that ensues keep you entertained well into the very end. The humor is witty, the stories simple yet funny. One can’t help but relate to Lulu because her perspective on childhood really holds true; and everyone has gone through being a kid, right?

Anyway, this statement might make me seem ancient; but they don’t do cartoons like this nowadays. Almost everything is represented in a heightened reality. I miss the good old fashioned animation. *now I do feel old*

best memory:
Some of the biggest laughs I got from this show are from the stand-up the title character does before or after every segment. Here’s an example:

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6KUeOFHEmJU]

And it’s great someone was able to post it, here’s one episode of the show that I still remember to this very day:

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujwV9WSVKVc]

