Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Last weekend, I spent two days in Singapore; and it was a short but sweet trip. We had to maximize our time so we prioritized, did what we had to do and skipped some of the usual stops (like Universal Studios Singapore, since we’ve already been there). Still, two days in Singapore is better than none at all, especially for something as awesome as Wicked.

MNL-SIN

We flew Jetstar for this trip. I chanced upon some cheap seats a few weeks ago and snatched them up before anyone else could. At a little less than Php5,000 for round-trip tickets, that’s not too bad! It’s never too late to find some inexpensive plane tickets if you check every once in a while.

my Jetstar boarding pass

We departed from NAIA Terminal 1 and arrived in Changi Airport Terminal 1. In other words, we departed from one of the worst airports in the world and arrived at one of the best. It was a pretty ironic arrangement…

NAIA vs. Changi

… Now onto the trip!

MARINA BAY SANDS

We went around Marina Bay Sands, did some shopping and eating.

in and around Marina Bay Sands

But of course the highlight of this stop… and the whole purpose of this quick trip… was Wicked.

inside the Grand Theater before the show

I’m not a huge musical theater addict. It’s only been recently that I could afford to watch theater performances; and “Wicked” is absolutely on top of my list of must-watch shows. I’ve only heard the songs; and I didn’t really know what to expect coming in. Anyway, everything I saw and heard was absolutely brilliant. I thoroughly enjoyed the show. The performances were amazing; and the music is simply beautiful. “Defying Gravity,” turned out to be so much better than I could ever have imagined. I was pretty overwhelmed. The whole show lives up to the hype and the accolades. I loved it so much!

MAKANSUTRA GLUTTONS BAY

After the show, we proceeded to Makansutra Gluttons Bay for some celebratory chili crabs! Yummy yummy!

baby squid, fried rice and chili crab

After some walking around with scenic night views, we ended Day 1.

Related post: Wicked in Singapore: Day 2

