Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

“the IT list” A series of posts that highlight the various stuff, old or new, that I’ve been doing… reading, watching, eating or simply obsessing over recently. It’s my personal countdown.

the IT list #8

#ONE
Pentatonix, the recent champions of The Sing-Off, has finally released an EP. Entitled Pentatonix Volume 1, this EP has six tracks, two of which are original songs. Let me remind you, all of the songs were arranged with just their voices (aka a cappella). I’ve been listening to it for the past couple of days, and I never lose the thrill of hearing their voices blend into varied and beautiful arrangements. Whether it’s Somebody That I Used to Know by Gotye or Starships by Nicki Minaj… These guys are the real deal.

Here’s a sampling and you may purchase their EP via www.ptxofficial.com:



#TWO
In addition to the recently opened Mall of Asia Arena, which hosted the phenomenal concerts of Lady Gaga and NKOTBSB (both of which I witnessed, and they were AWESOME!), the first Philippine branch of Uniqlo just opened in MOA a few weeks ago and Forever 21 is about to open by the end of July. With cinemas, a department store, a bowling alley, an ice skating rink, a convention center (SMX) and an IMAX cinema, not to mention the other shops and restaurants it has to offer, SM Mall of Asia is pretty much the most complete shopping mall and entertainment complex in Metro Manila. It certainly has got it all, and there might not be a need to go anywhere else. Wonderful.


#THREE
My favorite new show last year is definitely Awkward. It is a smart and witty series that never ran out of funny stories to tell with great characters that you can’t help but love. The show is back for a second year; and from the first two episodes, I’m feeling good about this season. My favorite part so far? The introduction of Becca, the scary (and hella funny) Asian. I can’t wait to see what Ming will get involved in with that crowd. Of course, there’s also the major love triangle between Jake, Jenna and Matty… That’s not going to end well. Lastly, there is the family conflict that will ensue because of the revelation of Jenna’s mother as the one who wrote the letter. I can’t wait to see what happens next. This is going to be interesting…


#FOUR
I missed all their previous shows here in the Philippines, so it’s absolutely vital that I not miss this one. Maroon 5 has just released their latest album, Overexposed, and with it comes a tour that is the hottest concert this year. Their September 18, 2012 show at the Smart Araneta Coliseum is currently sold out except for the General Admission section… And that’s less than three weeks since they started selling tickets. As an added bonus, they’re touring with The Cab, the breakthrough group behind the beautiful song “Endlessly.” I only bought my tickets last week, so I had to settle for Upper Box B. Still, I’m watching and that’s what matters!

#FIVE
It hasn’t exactly reached the Philippine shores and I just had someone buy it for me from Japan. To put it simply, I love this bag. I can’t explain what it’s made of; but almost everyone who’s seen it is fascinated by it. Bao Bao Issey Miyake is a line of bags that are both stylish and functional. I love using it. I love putting stuff in it. I am especially mesmerized by the smart and simple design. Currently the “it” bag in Thailand… It will only be a matter of time before it makes its way here in the country.

pretty bags in different colors

