Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I know people who’ve sworn off Pinoy movies altogether. It’s either a personal choice or given the track record of recent releases, it’s probably something formulaic… What’s the point, right? You’re not going to miss much even if a good one does come along.

Personally, I still like watching and supporting local movies. Nevertheless, I am choosy about what I watch. I feel around for good word of mouth (and positive reviews). I consider the people behind the production (good director? quality cast? interesting storyline?). After which, I make an informed decision: To watch or not to watch?

(L to R) Judy Ann Santos for “Mga Mumunting Lihim”; Tippy dos Santos for “I Do Bidoo Bidoo”; Eddie Garcia and Princess (the dog) for “Bwakaw”; Dominic Roco for “Ang Nawawala”

In the next few weeks, however, some theatrical releases are well worth your time and money. If you are looking for the perfect opportunity to give Pinoy movies a chance, this is the time to do it.

Mga Mumunting Lihim (Those Little Secrets) – NOW SHOWING

Have I watched it? YES. Why should YOU watch? It’s Jose Javier Reyes’ entry in the recently concluded Cinemalaya Film Festival. This film won both Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress accolades for its talented ensemble (Judy Ann Santos, Iza Calzado, Janice de Belen, Agot Isidro). It’s a dramedy that demonstrates how little we may know about our friends… and what they say about us behind our backs. The highlight of Mga Mumunting Lihim is a particularly lengthy argument in a restaurant that had the audience entertained, to say the least.

I Do Bidoo Bidoo – AUGUST 29, 2012

Have I watched it? NOT YET. Why should YOU watch? The songs of APO Hiking Society weaved into a story of love and family. A stellar cast that you never imagined would come together on the big screen… ever (Gary V, Zsa Zsa Padilla, Ogie Alcasid, Eugene Domingo). An “A” rating by the Cinema Evaluation Board and deafening positive buzz from its stars and the press. This is the musical movie event of the year. I’m positive that it will be a big hit; and you shouldn’t dare miss it. I definitely won’t.

Bwakaw – SEPTEMBER 5, 2012

Have I watched it? YES. Why should YOU watch? You will love this movie. I guarantee it. Eddie Garcia (Best Actor: Cinemalaya 2012) turns in an amazing performance as an aging gay man whose only family is his dog Bwakaw. The story is simple. The noteworthy moments range from light to heavy. It’s just a thoroughly enjoyable film and a definite crowd pleaser.

Ang Nawawala – SEPTEMBER 12, 2012

Have I watched it? YES. Why should YOU watch? The film won Audience Choice Award in Cinemalaya 2012. With a simple story of first love, this film is able to tell it in such a unique way… set in a world that very few are a part of. It is fascinating and engaging, with good music that sets the mood and a back story that slowly reveals itself.

Be sure to check your nearest cinemas for these releases and support our local film industry. Mabuhay ang pelikulang Pilipino!

